Reflections on Scratching the itch - Nordkapp 2013

walrus

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a ride report so be kind. It's an edited version of a private blog I kept for family and a few close friends so if the tone is odd in places that's why

27th May 2013 Blandford to Harwich

Well I'm on way. The bike was all loaded on time.
IMG_0002-M.jpg

And that's really all there is to say. It feels a bit odd to be finally doing it after all the thinking about it. Did Dorset to Harwich all in one go apart from a fuel stop I reckon I was down to my last litre or so. I was beginning to contemplate having to admit to running out of fuel before I even left England. Total miles 202.5. According to the sat nav I am 22ft below sea level at the moment. Probably not true. I'm really chuffed to have managed to get the Premier Inn room for only £29. And it's right opposite a Lidl so I've got a beer and some tomatoes to go with my pork pies for tea. The ferry is just down the road so no panic in the morning. It's 9am departure so I can leave here a bit before 8. Breakfast on the boat and a bit over six hour crossing. I want to do at least 100 miles tomorrow night; it's just over 400 miles to my guest house for Wednesday night. I don't know where I will lay my head tomorrow.

28th May 2013 - Let's go Dutch

Well that was the flattest bit of sea I've ever crossed. The ferry was really good too. Clean and comfortable. Little caged basket/football area on the deck, Chairs and tables outside the lounges and not too many people. Only 3 bikes which is quite a contrast to last year. Free, though very slow and almost unuseable, wifi. Pulling away from Harwich was good as we passed the old town

IMG_0023-M.jpg

with the huge container port on the opposite bank and on down to the mouth of the Orwell which stretched mistily behind us.

IMG_0027-M.jpg

Old defences as we crossed the bar and set off to sea.

P1020288-M.jpg

The arrival was not unattractive

IMG_0038-M.jpg