New to GSers!

markharnett

Reaction score
Hi All,

My name is Mark, and I am from Basingstoke (why do I suddenly feel like I am on a rubbish Saturday night quiz show??!!)

I do not currently have a GS, but looking to get one in the coming months, so just doing all I can to read up about the bike beforehand, thus ensuring I am fully prepared when going off to buy one.

I have been riding for about 9 years, and my first bike was a Honda CBR600F. I then progressed on to a Triumph Daytona 675 (just fell in love with it's good looks from the start!). I sold that a couple of years ago now, as I had a sudden realisation that it was always tempting me to go faster, and I was becoming more aware of my own mortality. I also wanted to try something new with building kit cars, and I needed funds for the job.

I built my first car (MEV Rocket - a bit like an Ariel Atom, just not as fast or expensive!) and then decided to build another, so sold that. I am now building a AC Cobra replica, which is a completely different beast, but will be awesome when done. It will have a 5.9L Chevy V8 in it, and I can't wait for the first drive (or should I say crawl, cos I think it is going to scare the pants off me!)

Any how, I have suddenly got the pang to get another bike, but thought the slightly less racey nature of an adventure/tourer would be the best way forward. The reviews I have read of the GS state that is just this, but also is not afraid to be chucked in to corners, so I think this is the best of both worlds for me.

Looking forward to learning things here and contributing where I can!

Cheers
Mark

Greetings & welcome to the forum....:D

I made the move from sports bike to a GS 5 years ago and not a single regret to be had.....

Get yourself subscribed and you'll have access to all areas of the forum.....;)