AirHead Drag Bike

paul cardy

Reaction score
Hi

I seem to have found my way here by a convoluted route - let me explain...
I have been building a Harley for the last 4 years, ok stop sniggering in the back, and although this is still some way off being finished I contacted that well known bug Internet Surfing - sweaty palms and finger hovering over the buy button on Ebay you know the simptons. I even spoke to someone recently who said they had such a bad case of this they were going to take a breatherliser test before logging on to Ebay..
Anyway I digress but a bit more of the back story my good lady wanted to visit here birth place which was some place called WestonZoyland sort of near Bridgewater, so a quick search and bingo a NSA Sprint meeting on at the same time - rocked up and what a great bunch of people spoke to lots of competitors and really got hooked on the whole idea, and with all things motorsport my good lady was front and center when can we go again ;). So several trips back to this event during the year and the bug got really bad..

I knew I wanted to build another bike but maybe not as full on with fabrication as the Harley - yeah right- more surfing and liked the look of the BMW Cafe Racers and then found "Glemseck 101" ok now we are talking.
Still there no falling asleep ... So now i knew what I needed just had to find one.

So the hunt was on for an R50 plunger frame, ok i know this may upset some people taking a classic bike and turning into something none standard but I hope to do this justice and maybe if it ever gets finished you can be the judges.

Back on the Ebay and and I soon discovered that all the parts seem to be in USA ? found a frame which was all I really needed and matching numbers crankcase which came with the deal but it took so long to sort out shipping that it got sold before the deal could be concluded.