Barcelona Bike Hire for Pyrenees

Sgt.Cupid

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
This will be me and the wifes first motorcycle trip out of Blighty, so cut me some slack... as I've probably overlooked something obvious :nenau

Anyway, going for a week in the Pyrenees next July and after a little number crunching, unless I'm missing something, it seems very close on costs to fly/hire than use my own bike...fuel/tyres/ferries/tolls/boring motorways etc.

I can get an Africa Twin with luggage and 300km per day for 90euros a day from here... http://www.spainmotorent.com/?ver=Inicio

So I was wondering if anyone has used them before? And also any little nuggets of wisdom gleened by all you well travelled seasoned tourers :rob

Thanks in advance :thumby:

I would be a little concerned about the comfort of the AT for two up riding, your lady may not be as comfortable as on say a r1200gs, its just a thought you may wish to consider, i have no first hand experience on the back of one, but a friend has one and his wife is not a happy bunny on the back.
With reference to fly and hire, for me it would make sense if the trip was a shortish one, say less than 7-8 days, but any longer and i would be riding down and doing the trip half on big roads and half on smaller more interesting roads. but as its your trip, its down to what you want, and sod what others may want to do. You did ask for nuggets though. You could always take the boat to Santander or Bilbao as another alternative, costly yes but its part of the trip with your own bike.

I have not been on an AT. But if they are uncomfortable for the pillion, and your wife is not comfortable on the back, it will spoil both your holidays. As it is your first trip abroad, she may not want to go again if she has a bad experience.

Just my 2 pence worth.:thumb2

The best deal in town is Rent-a-Tiger. Speak with Anton in his perfect English and collect your bike two minutes from Sants station - direct on the line form the airport.

Regs