'Small' GS tank bag on GSA LC....and tank protection film

LBJ GSA

Reaction score
Hi there - I just ordered the current 'small' GS tank bag for my GSA. (Only one 'large' size listed for the GSA but it looks like it should fit the tank shape ok? Anyone done the same? I think it was about £117 versus around £170? The large one looks too tall for an already tall tank. Also, what is a good way to protect the tank? Any good clear film out there? Have seen a factory 3 pad thing on some GSs and GSAs but I previously had some thick, clear film on my old GS.......just can't remember where I got it! Many thanks. LBJ.

Mine is huge.... in some eyes :D

Signature custom design is recommended for the film.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have been using one of these for 2 1/2 years, 18,000mls, it lives on the bike and is loaded with all the boy scout stuff, side stand puck, puncture repair kit etc. I get some light marking on the tank, but nothing that doesn't polish out, so I don't worry about it.
The clear plastic on the map pocket is now discolouring, I am guessing from UV, nothing I can do about that, but it does make it look old.

Hi,

I got the small one as well on my GSA and fits fine. In fact it was thrown into the deal as a good will gesture by the dealer so it's meant to fit. Already done 3000 miles with it on the bike and not a problem of scratching or rubbing. I have however a tank pad See link)

http://www.adventurebikeshop.co.uk/image/cache/data/touratech/01-100-0133-0_i_01-500x500.jpg

Great - thanks Madsplash. That's good to know. Show us a pic when you can. I should (hopefully) be able to see my handlebar mounted GPS with the smaller one. :) Funny how the dealer I spoke to seemed to think there is only one option (the large one) and that the small one 'might damage the tank'! This is clearly not the case.