GS Tourer Mods

fred_jb

Reaction score
I'm a GS newbie, and get the impression that most people don't do much modding to these bikes, so I'm not sure if this will be of interest, but I thought I would post some pics of the mods I have done to my new GS to suit my touring requirements. I chose the GS as a touring bike because I found it best met my requirements for a very competent two-up tourer, while also being fun to ride solo. My two previous bikes, Versys 1000 and Triumph Trophy SE, both proved to be a less than ideal compromise in different ways for these two roles.

However, I wasn't keen on the standard adventure style Vario luggage or most of the aftermarket equivalents. The problem is that the high level exhaust compromises the capacity and/or the positioning of panniers, and we also find the large boxes can be a bit obstructive for getting on and off the bike. I therefore looked at alternatives, and having used Shad luggage in the past, I decided to see if I could fit their new SH35 36 litre panniers and the matching expandable SH59X top box - pics here:

http://www.fastbikebits.com/shopimages/products/extras/D0B35100-big.jpg
http://www.fastbikebits.com/shopimages/products/normal/sh59x-med.jpg