little end on its way out.....

aeronut7

Reaction score
so ive been told......by a bloke with a screwdriver to his ear......
also been told that on these engines its not that difficult to do.....
i would still get somebody else to do it for me tho.....
53,000 miles r1200gs 2005
ill probebly keep using it till winter comes and get it sorted then....if it lasts that long...

Too many working parts in the cylinder head to correctly diagnose that as the culprit surely.??

.....with all due respect to screwdriver man :rob

he listened for a while with the screwdriver...then again with engine in gear and under load by slipping the clutch...
i will be after a second opinion and even a third before deciding....

I'm no expert but as there is virtually no clearance between piston and valves at tdc, it may be easier to endoscope the piston top for witness marks.
Certainly if it's gone then I wouldn't be running that engine at all.

If correct diagnosis, then your costs will spiral the longer its run - potentially new piston, valves and head can/ will get damaged.

think ill pop into north oxford group on monday and have a chat...
just gonna say i hear a knock and see what they diagnose....

Maybe if they had needle rollers, but otherwise not likely..

Small end at 57,000, now that's unusual ?

i agree seeing as the bike has a full service record...any work done has been done at bmw...inspected every year...regular oil changes.
last full service and insp at 50,000 miles and now on 53,000.
the mechanic at hilltop made the diagnosis today but i would still like another opinion...

Small end at 57,000, now that's unusual ?

Unless the rod is bent due to previous hydraulic lock through fording.

Truimph daytona T595 engines could bend rods (leading to small end ticking and eventual failure)if dropped on LHS due to the crank breather flooding the airbox with sump oil.