Sportster 48 v Dyna Low rider

samsgs

Reaction score
I am new to the Harley thing but while the 883 is fun, its a little slow off the line.

I have tried a 48 and quite liked it and its seems a bit of a natural progression from the 883. However a dyna was mentioned in the same breath and I quite like the pics dibdob69 posted.

Yes I know do a test ride, but I wanted to hear the experience of others before all that.

I guess I could do the 1200 conversion but by the time I do that, get wide glide forks etc I may as well get the 48 or the dyna (which I know is not quite the same as a 48 but has the bigger engine).

I use the bike as a toy and the most I ride is about 160 miles a day. I have only ever toured once in about 15 years, so its seems unlikely at the moment. Hardly any commuting (into London) and I try and avoid motorways, dual carriageways etc.

I get the dyna costs more, bigger engine etc, but what does it gain/ lose in feel, fun, enjoyment compared to the 48?

thanks

I've had a Dyna Wide Glide for a while now and up till recently also had a Sportster 883 Iron. The 883 does lack a bit of power and torque compared to the 1200 engined 48 so if you where getting a Sporty I'd suggest that the 48 was the better bike. The engine is lovely and smooth and is bullet proof.

The Sportsters look great but if your over 6 foot tall a Dyna might be more comfortable plus the big twin engine is just more manly (IHMO :D). The main reason I sold the 883 was at 6 2" I found that it could get rather uncomfortable on longer rides.

So my advice to you would be that if your over 6 foot tall get the Dyna. :)

Street Bob is the answer - or the 48 - ride em back to back...

The FXDX (Super glide Sport) is worth a look. I love mine.