F800GS - pre vs post 2013

spooon

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hello there.

[Apologies in advance if this has been discussed before; a quick search on the forum hasn't turned up anything]

After having been riding my SV650 (first bike) for a couple of years and getting a bad back/arms/neck/hands after circa 30 mins, I've been thinking (quite a lot) about making the leap to a used F800GS. My dad has a 13 plate 1200GS and it would be nice to accompany him on some longer trips with a bit more comfort; I'm supposed to be young and fit but my SV doesn't make me feel that way...

After looking initially, I've realised that the GS bikes seem to keep their value well, which is good but means I'm looking at spending a fair amount for a used one - I love the look and sound of the F800GS and am now determined to get one.

However, I've read that lots of the early bikes came with plenty of problems and as I have very little or no mechanical experience (or money) to fix these problems, have been looking at post-2013 models which I believe(?) addressed lots of these problems.

These are obviously more expensive and so could anyone help me determine what differences are between the pre- and post-2013 models and whether the post '13 is worth it? I imagine most riding will be road based but would look to do some light off-road (dirt tracks etc.) where possible.

Thanks in advance.

Tom

I have had 2 X 650 & a 700GS twins.
Which use the same engine as the 800 albeit less power, all have been super reliable.

The 700 is way better than both 650 's being a 13 reg with all the upgrades..

I don't know anybody that has had any real problems with the F series twins, yes the rotors can burn out but that's only a 100 notes to sort..

I would imagine a bike with less electrikery would give you less problems going forward.....

But BMW have the F series well sorted...

What Ash says :thumb