Burning Engine Oil

Warlord

Do Not Resuscitate
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
My 2017 (March) R1200GSA is burning engine oil.

It was bought new and I ran it in (no different than plenty of other new bikes I've owned in the past). So the running in procedure was, in my opinion, done correctly.

However, I've used around 500ml of engine oil in the past 5,500 miles. No leaks. Bike is clean as a whistle.

Does that sound normal for this bike, when ridden sympathetically hard.

I don't abuse the bike, but I do rev it through the range regularly.

Just wondered, as I have no experience of this engine before.

Unfortunately, you may have caused the oil usage yourself by 'running it in correctly'.
These engines seem to like it rough in the early days.

Having said that 1/2 litre in 5,500 miles doesn't sound too excessive.
Live with it and enjoy the bike.

That sounds excessive, even for a new engine-- My 2013 GS LC hasn't used a drop in 6000 miles.

On one of the old TC s that ammount of oil sounds about right but the LC ???

First i have heard of anyone using that much in one and everyone i know that went from TC to LC comments on how they just don't burn oil

Done 40 thou on mine, self serviced... Oil level has never moved at anytime even when running in.
Take it back to the dealer and let them know what is happening , I am sure they know the watercooled engines do not use oil..others may disagree but i have yet to meet anyone who,s lc uses oil.

Well within BMW tolerance......

They used to quote 1.0ltrs/1000m.

That's one of the characteristics of a flat-twin engine........

Al

Well within BMW tolerance......

They used to quote 1.0ltrs/1000m.

That's one of the characteristics of a flat-twin engine........

Al

eh?,one of the things the lc does not do is use engine oil,unlike the previous air/oil cooled