Newbie - What to look out for on a used 1200GS - Be gentle.......

Bishop

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a real newbie to this forum and the GS.... er... lets just cut my long story down to a short 'help'!

I've still got all the sales brochures when the 1200 came out in 2004. That's how much Ive wanted one. Now, at last, I can raise about £4k for a used 1200 and I'm asking what should I look out for?????

I literally know NOWT about the bikes! Heard the 2004 model had 'issues' not sure what, and that ABS was a bad too on early bikes?
Mate has just got a 2005 model, and it seems like 'brake failure' warning is a little worrying but this goes away when you start the bike. I think.
Ive seen a few with big miles and bigger corrosion on engine where paint is flaking off like £10 notes......:(

so.... any advice, hints, what to watch etc would be a HUGE help!
Cheers everyone and thanks in advance :)

Bish

Go for a 2007-on model. Better brakes having scrapped the servo. Engine more or less sorted by then as well. They were selling by the shedload so plenty around to choose from. Be picky, service history a must. Then just ride the wheels off it and enjoy!

Sent from my LG-K350 using Tapatalk

I've also been reading up on 1200GS's ...... apparently, if you want ABS, avoid the servo/ABS Bikes ...... I think ABS ll or whatever came in 2006 ....... therefore avoid 2005 Bikes

Thanks guys, 2007 one looks beyond my means :( Will avoid 2004/05 if I can!

ooooo.... http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/BMW-R-120...458299?hash=item25dcfe877b:g:YiwAAOSwzoRZiG9~

Cheers :)

Looks nice and a good spec although is top, top dollar for year....go on condition and servicing rather than mileage. The brake failure light comes on as standard when starting the bike as a check....goes off after a short while.