Is this the start of a new engine claim?

TonyZZR

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
R/H Cylinder. No other marks anywhere else on the bike. 16 reg Triple black......

corrosion.jpg

Not sure, but I understand they're now they're rebuilding with new cases (using all the original internals), rather than fitting whole engines.

Yes, would agree that it is. I am on my second engine and drive train now! As for a new engine, I was in the dealers last week and they where still fitting new lumps! So not sure about the rumours about the rebuild thing! Ps I am getting another drive train!

Good luck

I think it depends on the circumstances and corrosion....I just got a new engine, but they were rebuilding some.

Sorry to be a complete Newb, but can someone circle in the photo what I am supposed to see, so I can check mine.

Yes, would agree that it is. I am on my second engine and drive train now! As for a new engine, I was in the dealers last week and they where still fitting new lumps! So not sure about the rumours about the rebuild thing! Ps I am getting another drive train!

Good luck

It came direct from a customer of Vines as that's what he was offered. As Gerard said, maybe depends on circumstances.

Mine had a short engine - old heads, but new below.

Definetly corrosion. I had my engine replaced with similar.
I paintbrush acf50 along all vulnerable areas now as bike out of warrenty. Works for up to now.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

I was in CMC Cannock last week and spotted a 16 reg TB. I noted all the rust spots so I could check it against mine and apply more ACF50. :D I was surprised to see on the showroom bike the bolts on the exhaust hanger bracket had even started to rust.