Penny's are in the pot ... New or 2 to 3 yr old?

Uncle8ill

Reaction score
Hi there all.

Been lurking on the forums and will be going shopping for my first bike in the spring...

I have never owned a bike myself but have ridden a few litre bikes. Father and brother had them... had my bike license for nearon 20 yrs just never properly broken it in!! I fell in love with the GS on the Off Road Skills Lvl 1 weekend as I am pretty tall and have never enjoyed the ZZRs and VFRs I rode before ... there is no other option now!!... GS it is.

After browsing the market I see there are some good examples 2 to 3 years old but once I have some experience and training under my belt intend to go 2s up on it.... a dealer I was chatting to was singing the praises of the 2017s suspension and I am now fixated on a 2017 GSA....

The question is .... Should I pursue my fixation or buy 2 to 3 yr old as the suspension will be just as good and the ride will be just as good as the few GSs I have tried. (2017 versions of Rallye, R1200GS TE.... both with high seat)

Guidance appreciated!
Bill

Ps...The African Twin keeps winking at me every time one goes past.... should I be tempted...?

Sent from my SM-G955F using Tapatalk

Africa Twin is a very good bike.GS riders will slag them off and no doubt one will be along any minute.Also try a KTM if you haven't already.If you are tall then a 1290R would suit you.

The GS or GSA will do what you ask of it but you will have to put up with recalls and build quality issues,and they are ten a penny despite being rather bland and over-hyped.

Is budget an issue? If not then buy a New GS/GSA....if you need to save £6k buy an Africa Twin... Save a bit more buy a Yam Super Ten.

Also ref Suspension, that's sales speak for "Buy a new one, it will help me hit my quota"

Go for a 2-3 year old bike. When you realise it's not quite what you expected and want to change, you wont have the depreciation hit that buying new would entail.