Rider modes on 2017 GSA

botus

Reaction score
I didn't see a better location, this is still a review, but on BMW's own software (of which some modes are cost options)

Traction control intervention / anti wheel should be renamed anti acceleration. I’ve been riding bikes for forty years and don’t like electronic nannies ruining bikes. Reading the owner’s manual I found very little useful information pertaining to exactly what affects BMW were trying to achieve with all the modes and settings.

On anti-wheelie it says its active in all modes, yet doesn’t state if the level of intervention changes dependent upon rider mode selected (which both the manual should clearly state for knowledge / safety reasons, and the mode selected should change behaviour for safety / enthusiasts), furthermore it doesn’t appear to have a mode to disable at all. For off road riding I find it odd / dangerous that a rider can’t rely on the bike safely following his instructions (enduro and enduro pro modes).

On testing the rider modes electronic intervention is far too intrusive. With the engine fully warmed up, tyres warm, 16C ambient temp, dry grippy tarmac, 120kg rider (with gear on), bike in first gear rolling somewhere around 15mph and 3000rpm

Rain - not tested, no intention of ever using
Road - roll on to full throttle, hideous intervention and flashing instrument lights for no reason at all from 4k - never want to use this setting again
Dynamic - roll on to full throttle, hideous intervention and flashing instrument lights for no reason at all from 4k – appears as unpleasant and intrusive as Road
Enduro - roll on to full throttle, intervention and flashing instrument lights for no reason