Nippy Normans supply Touratech, Wunderlich and many other makes of accessories. Fantastic service and unbelievable performance.

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: 2017 Euro4 OBD2 BMW GS's

  1. #1
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Walsall
    Posts
    1,380

    2017 Euro4 OBD2 BMW GS's

    Someone asked how I use my mobile phone to reset my service indicator and read fault codes on my 2017 Euro4 OBD2 BMW GSA.

    Firstly you need to ensure you have a Euro4 spec bike, with the OBD2 standard connector (which is located behind your motorcycle battery cover).

    Then you need to buy either the OBDLink LX or OBDLink MX bluetooth or Wifi device. Costs around £60-£70 (I chose the MX Version as it also connects to my family members cars (Ford, Vauxhall, Renault etc) and I can read and reset fault codes on theirs as well with it.

    Anyways, once you have the ODB2 reader you then need the MotoScan Ultimate App to download on your phone (I have an Android Samsung S8 device). The Ultimate app costs around £35 'ish.

    Once you have the App downloaded and the OBD2 reader connected you will be able to see fault codes, reset service indicator etc (in Km so just remember to convert from Miles and you are good to go).

    Works great and only cost me £100 in total as I picked up the OBD2 second hand off eBay.
    Attached Images Attached Images    

    Oh my god, can you see any corrosion yet?

  2. #2
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Walsall
    Posts
    1,380
    If you then want to use the OBD2 data LIVE and import it onto your video footage. All the details in this thread

    http://www.ukgser.com/forums/showthr...Virb-XE-Camera


    Oh my god, can you see any corrosion yet?

  3. #3
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Walsall
    Posts
    1,380
    I also bought a 1 metre OBD2 extension lead and relocated my OBD2 readers under my seat.

    Much easier and quicker to unplug and remove without having to open the battery cover each time you want to use it.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Manchester, England
    Posts
    202
    Good thread.

    Has anyone managed to do something similar with Apple rather than Android/windows? TIA

  5. #5
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Highlands
    Posts
    359
    And what about a 2015 model?
    Chaos, mayhem and panic; another job well done

  6. #6
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    777
    Quote Originally Posted by sethmopp View Post
    And what about a 2015 model?
    Yes it works on the 2016 and lower but you need an adapter cable.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Tropical Australia
    Posts
    351
    Quote Originally Posted by Warlord View Post
    If you then want to use the OBD2 data LIVE and import it onto your video footage. All the details in this thread

    http://www.ukgser.com/forums/showthr...Virb-XE-Camera


    Very interesting from a tech perspective, but he could have cut it in half....

  8. #8
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    777
    Quote Originally Posted by fredaroony View Post
    Yes it works on the 2016 and lower but you need an adapter cable.
    I should add this only works for the Motoscan app and not the Garmin Virb

  9. #9
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    174
    Do you know if this are able to change the bike from miles to kms?

  10. #10
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    Black Forest
    Posts
    928

    Click here to find out how to remove these ads

    Quote Originally Posted by RJC View Post
    Do you know if this are able to change the bike from miles to kms?
    A mate of mine done his Harley with this software, suppose it does the same for GS, and apparently the GS-911 does it also but I am not sure until what year.

    http://www.diag4bike.eu/





    upload image

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"