Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 21

Thread: Update Maps & "Reset" My Zumo 550 or Invest In A Newer Zumo With LM?

  1. #1
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    893

    Update Maps & "Reset" My Zumo 550 or Invest In A Newer Zumo With LM?

    Mapping on my 550 seems to be a) old and b) not the same as on my mate's 550.

    I have a version of MapSource that seems to be not the full version, but haven't yet downloaded any mapping. I don't think I like MS anyway, but I do like these tutorials for BaseCamp and I think I could get to grips with it:

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jAoRNivm4BA

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U75KTv-dxB0

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JaVZiIp3T7k

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zk06mnbRr_A

    I like using MotoGoLoCo, but it has limitations (based on google maps, so can't "do" off-road) and seems to not like working with my 550 (at least in its current state).

    The mis-match between mine & mate's 550s mean there have been discrepancies when out on rides - same .gpx routes loaded into each 550 actually result in differing routes being displayed. Annoying.

    We want to use whatever will achieve the most reliable and predictable results while using GPS on rides (which could involve off-road tracks/trails), and I think BaseCamp + up-to-date maps + newer Zumo is now an option we should consider.

    So what's "best"?

    OPTION 1:
    - Have our 550s professionally overhauled and have up-to-date mapping installed.
    - Install BaseCamp on laptops (IIUC I can still use routes created in BaseCamp on the 550?).

    OPTION 2:
    - Retire the 550s and invest in newer Zumos that will likely come with LM.
    - BaseCamp is the software typically used with newer Zumos, yes?
    - There are other pluses that I'd also value with a newer Zumo - control of my VIRB cameras, decent mp3 audio (550 is shite), better screen.

    Option 2 is where I'm leaning. It'd be more expensive, but I think it'd be worth it.


    TIA.

    EDIT: Reading back over that, it does seem that I've already convinced myself to get a newer Zumo. Still - if anyone can convince me why option 1 would be the better option, I'm all ears.

  2. #2
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Fife, Scotland
    Posts
    132
    I'd update for at least 2 reasons - 1. newer device should be faster 2. bigger screen.

    There's plenty more reasons I'm sure...inc LM.

    D.

  3. #3
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    1,842
    Option 1, there is really nothing to overhaul if they are working and you have the latest maps and software installed, and also a good fast class 10 sd card. Yes you can use basecamp to create routes no problem. You can check software and maps using garmin express, download from garmins web site.

    Option 2, the 550 is a very good unit and is more than capable of taking you to where you want to go (with the correct mapping) you can purchase LM for the 550. the newer units will not be vastly quicker to calculate than the 550, but will be quicker. the 550 is more robust than some of the newer units, the audio on the 550 is as good as the newer units unless you are using blue tooth then the newer units are better. The new units tend to have bigger and better screens.

    I have used and own the 550 and newer units there is not a lot in it, it all depends what you want out of your gps device. Read the threads on here there are a few people who say the very new units are rubbish. and many who swear by them.

    Your problem that you have between your routes and your mates route being displayed differently, i would bet diamonds that its nothing to do with the actual unit, but in fact a preference setting or settings or even different maps being used on the units.

    With reference to mapsource vs basecamp you will get as many opinions on the subject as you would with the brexit debate, I will say this about them, both will work if using a pc.
    And with reference to off road routes you may find that OSM (open street maps) may be better than the standard garmin maps, i am unsure of this though so someone else may confirm.

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Chester, England
    Posts
    1,983
    Before you do anything, you need to get Garmin Express onto your computer and then connect your 550 to it and register the device. Then GE will check for updates on your 550, both the operating system and the maps.

  5. #5
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    893
    Quote Originally Posted by leedude03 View Post
    Option 1, there is really nothing to overhaul if they are working and you have the latest maps and software installed, and also a good fast class 10 sd card. Yes you can use basecamp to create routes no problem. You can check software and maps using garmin express, download from garmins web site.

    Option 2, the 550 is a very good unit and is more than capable of taking you to where you want to go (with the correct mapping) you can purchase LM for the 550. the newer units will not be vastly quicker to calculate than the 550, but will be quicker. the 550 is more robust than some of the newer units...
    Sold. Both myself & matey boy (Crunch on here) have decided to stick with our 550s and install nuMaps Lifetime Europe - €90. Is this complicated? Do we delete the current mapping first?

    Quote Originally Posted by leedude03 View Post
    ...the audio on the 550 is as good as the newer units unless you are using blue tooth then the newer units are better.
    Confused... Is there another way to connect for audio with the 550? I see no audio input or output ports on my 550?

    Quote Originally Posted by leedude03 View Post
    The new units tend to have bigger and better screens.

    I have used and own the 550 and newer units there is not a lot in it, it all depends what you want out of your gps device. Read the threads on here there are a few people who say the very new units are rubbish. and many who swear by them.

    Your problem that you have between your routes and your mates route being displayed differently, i would bet diamonds that its nothing to do with the actual unit, but in fact a preference setting or settings or even different maps being used on the units.
    Yep. I'd lay that same bet. And I'd also bet that after updating the mapping on both units, all will be well between them

    Quote Originally Posted by leedude03 View Post
    With reference to mapsource vs basecamp you will get as many opinions on the subject as you would with the brexit debate, I will say this about them, both will work if using a pc.
    And with reference to off road routes you may find that OSM (open street maps) may be better than the standard garmin maps, i am unsure of this though so someone else may confirm.
    After watching youtube vids on both MapSource & BaseCamp, I'm more optimistic that I'd get on better (and get up to speed quicker) with BaseCamp.

    Quote Originally Posted by paul08 View Post
    Before you do anything, you need to get Garmin Express onto your computer and then connect your 550 to it and register the device. Then GE will check for updates on your 550, both the operating system and the maps.
    Already registered my 550 on my Garmin Express account. There are two alerts: a) the software (version 5.0) is up to date, b) there are map updates available (nuMaps Lifetime Europe, as mentioned above - €90). I'll update that mapping asap.

    I have a new class 10 SD card ready to go.

    But what - if anything - should I first be deleting from the internal memory? I hate unnecessary clutter in my folders & drives:

    Name:  Internal Folders & Files.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  19.3 KB

    Name:  Internal Folders & Files 2.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  65.2 KB


    Thanks all y'all!

  6. #6
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    1,842
    Q1 Both myself & matey boy (Crunch on here) have decided to stick with our 550s and install nuMaps Lifetime Europe - €90. Is this complicated? Do we delete the current mapping first?
    A1 just connect to your pc and let garmin express do the rest.

    Q2 Is there another way to connect for audio with the 550? I see no audio input or output ports on my 550?
    A2 yes there is, on the side of the motorcycle mount under a rubber cover you will find audio out socket.

    Q3 But what - if anything - should I first be deleting from the internal memory? I hate unnecessary clutter in my folders & drives:
    A3 see answer 1

  7. #7
    What files should I delete on my 550 to make more space for the maps?

    GARMIN:Garmin/GUPDATE.GCD is the last firmware update source and can be backed up to your PC and deleted.

    GARMIN:Garmin/gmapsupp.img and gmapsupp.sum. If these files are on the Zumo and you didn't load some other type of maps, delete them. Do Not send map segments to the Zumo 550 unless you know they don't exist on the GPS. Normally the Maps the MapSource uses are all there.

    GARMIN:Garmin/voice/keep english_american_.sum, english_american_.vpm, and one pair of [name].sum and .vpm files.

    GARMIN:Garmin/vehicle/keep one or two .srf files

    GARMIN:Garmin/text/keep one set of language triples.gtt (British_English.gtt, British_English_Gdnc.gtt, British_English_Trf.gtt)

    GARMIN:Garmin/scrn/delete any screen captures or move them to your PC

    GARMIN:Garmin/POI/poi.gpi and any other .gpi and .unl files in this folder can be backed up on your PC, deleted and restored after a map update, or rerun POI Loader on the current POI versions after a map update..

    GARMIN:Garmin/mp3/delete all mp3s

    GARMIN:Garmin/jpg/delete or more to PC all files

    GARMIN:Garmin/GPX/Delete CURRENT.GPX after using MapSource to Receive from Device any tracks or routes you want to keep and remember to save the MapSource gdb file.

    GARMIN:Garmin/GPX/Delete Temp.GPX as it is a copy of your last Send to Device. Delete any other GPX files here or move them to your PC

    GARMIN:Garmin/GPX/Archive/Move to your PC any track archives you want to keep and delete all gpx files

    GARMIN:Garmin/Docs/Move any files here to your PC

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,565
    Quote Originally Posted by PhaedrusMC View Post
    Sold. Both myself & matey boy (Crunch on here) have decided to stick with our 550s and install nuMaps Lifetime Europe - €90. Is this complicated? Do we delete the current mapping first?



    Confused... Is there another way to connect for audio with the 550? I see no audio input or output ports on my 550?



    Yep. I'd lay that same bet. And I'd also bet that after updating the mapping on both units, all will be well between them



    After watching youtube vids on both MapSource & BaseCamp, I'm more optimistic that I'd get on better (and get up to speed quicker) with BaseCamp.



    Already registered my 550 on my Garmin Express account. There are two alerts: a) the software (version 5.0) is up to date, b) there are map updates available (nuMaps Lifetime Europe, as mentioned above - €90). I'll update that mapping asap.

    I have a new class 10 SD card ready to go.

    But what - if anything - should I first be deleting from the internal memory? I hate unnecessary clutter in my folders & drives:

    Name:  Internal Folders & Files.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  19.3 KB

    Name:  Internal Folders & Files 2.jpg
Views: 55
Size:  65.2 KB


    Thanks all y'all!
    Latest maps In total won’t fit on the device. You need to install the map to your PC using Garmin Express. Then use Garmin Map Installer to transfer the maps to your SD card. GE won’t see the SD card installed in a 550


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    893
    Thanks Guys.

  10. #10
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    1,842
    Quote Originally Posted by iand46 View Post
    GE won’t see the SD card installed in a 550


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Never had this issue with the 550 and express, its always recognized the card, and installed the whole of europe, just saying.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,565

    Update Maps & "Reset" My Zumo 550 or Invest In A Newer Zumo With LM?


  12. #12
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    1,842
    you have no argument from me, just relating how i get updates and the fact mine does work.

  13. #13
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Location
    Dublin
    Posts
    893
    So the first method in this video ("Install Map To Computer") is the way to go, to get the new mapping onto my laptop?

    And then I do something else to get that new mapping also onto my 550 - possibly onto an SD card (will my new 32gb card be sufficient?) rather than the 550's internal memory?

    €90 of mapping on an easily lose-able SD card...



  14. #14
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    1,842
    install all to pc/mac first that is correct, and then use basecamp or mapsource to send the maps to your card nb make sure you choose your card.. you then have your map products stored on your pc/mac to use with mapsource or basecamp, and you can also choose what sections of the full mapset to send to the card.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    North Yorkshire
    Posts
    1,565

    Update Maps & "Reset" My Zumo 550 or Invest In A Newer Zumo With LM?

    Quote Originally Posted by leedude03 View Post
    install all to pc/mac first that is correct, and then use basecamp or mapsource to send the maps to your card nb make sure you choose your card.. you then have your map products stored on your pc/mac to use with mapsource or basecamp, and you can also choose what sections of the full mapset to send to the card.
    Not using Garmin Express then as per your other post?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  16. #16
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    1,842
    i am yes, i use nothing else
    Attached Images Attached Images   

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"