R1200R plusses and minuses

snappo

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I took my mate to Chester Motorrad today to look at bikes, he's a total novice rider but he's nearly 50 and has been driving for more than 30 years, currently doing 35k ish a year on average, so he's not exactly green. He sat on a few bikes, and the two he liked best were the R1200R and the S1000XR - he's not short of cash, so it's not a budget issue, he can get whatever he wants really.

So, what is the 1200R like to live with, does it have any foibles or faults, and how are they to ride for a few hours at a time. I'm hoping to get him through a test so we can get out and get some miles under him, as we're planning a joint 50th birthday trip over to the US in 2019!

Lets hear what you've got to say!!

Cheers!

:beerjug:

R1200R - brilliant bikes, aren't really suited to tall chaps. Ok for a beginner that'll set the mode to rain until they've built up confidence.

S1000XR - brilliant bikes, far better suited to tall chaps. Daft for a beginner as they're mental

Stick a screen on and will tour better than a GS.

R1200R is more than he will need as a beginner. Great for short people. I toured Europe in July this year and I thought very comfy and I only have the low seat which is thinner.

I had an R and I loved it.
Touratech comfort seat helped as this was pre hip replacement. Not essential though.
A Cee Baileys touring screen that bolts on directly is the best weather protection option and doesn’t spoil the look of the bike.

He’s a touch shorter than me, probably about 5ft 10, a is not tosser sized ( runs 40-50 miles a week !). I did think it could benefit from a screen, but other than that he looked pretty comfy on it.

What are the luggage options like?

He’s a touch shorter than me, probably about 5ft 10, a is not tosser sized ( runs 40-50 miles a week !). I did think it could benefit from a screen, but other than that he looked pretty comfy on it.

What are the luggage options like?