Go Pro Hero 5 Black

Hoff

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi
I guess this is probably going to be a dumb question but as a Go Pro newbie I just have to ask.
I have a 1200GS air cooled (2012) and am looking to mount a hero 5 Black on it.
I have looked at the mount from Nippy Normans which goes on the front of the screen. It looks a good piece of kit, if somewhat expensive, but my question is how do you switch the camera on and off without stopping?
Am I missing something obvious or is it how it is? I don't want a helmet mount and the only alternative I can see is a ram mount on the handlebars.
I am looking at the Hero 5 because of the rear screen but don't want to spend the extra £100 for the Hero 6!
A second question is about storage, do you just take some spare SD cards with you or is there an alternative without a lap top?
I am looking at 7 days from the south of Portugal up to the UK via Spain and France.
Hope some can help
TIA

Not too sure if it's included with the Hero5, but GoPro do a remote which you can attach to the handlebars or somewhere equally convenient. It's well worth the investment because it means you can mount the camera anywhere on the bike and not have to be stretching back and forth to reach it all the time.

The handlebar RAM mount is actually quite good as some of the picture is taken up by the cockpit of the bike. This gives a bit more context to the footage, as opposed to just seeing what's in front of the bike. Not everyone will agree, but I like to have a wee bit of foreground detail in the footage.

WRT memory cards, for a seven day trip, I'd just bring a few spare memory cards with you. Unless you plan to shoot constantly in 4K, a few 64Gb cards would hold a lot of 1080p footage. The one advantage of bringing the laptop is that you can watch over the interesting bits of the footage each evening, beats looking at it on a phone screen.

Hi
I guess this is probably going to be a dumb question but as a Go Pro newbie I just have to ask.