2005 R1200GS Heavy Throttle

sputnikk

Reaction score
Hi all,

Noob here when it comes to adventure riding and my new-to-me 2005 R1200GS

Pertitent disclaimer: I come from a decade of sports bike riding. I've toured on every gixxer I own and good ol' suzi is still part of the stable. But after several tours including one 2up - I decided an adventure bike/touring was worth a try.

Its taking some time to get used to. Very different riding position and I'm attempting to address little issue one by one (seat adjustment, peg adjustments, etc).

One of the main things bothering me however is my throttle. I understand these thing don't take lube so I'm not sure what to do to address it. It's not that its jerky or unresponsive. Power is all there. If I'm spirited, doesn't present a real problem. But if I need to hold the throttle at a steady 120-140km on a motorway, it gets really tough to hold for an extended period of time (and gets that way rather quick). As if there's a lot attempting to pull it back? I already feel like I have to twist pretty hard and break my wrist on this compared to the ultra-tuned gixxer; but I certainly don't expect such pain on a sit-up bike after 5 minutes of straight line pacing.

Can someone help me out with some advice or things to look at? It's really bothering me and preventing me from falling completely in love.

Thanks all

You will be better off asking in the relevent section, this is the LC section

Isnt this the Basic LC ? As all the new LC's are full of Technology and are rubbish ?

There all like that ;)

Get a grip wrist rest about £3.00 on the bay

Doesnt eliminate it, but allows you to hold the throttle with a relaxed grip and thus resduce the strain :)

2005 you say? Air/oil cooled then, so old cable throttle, not nice ultra light fly by wire that the newer water cooled bikes get - I suggest you buy a 2013 GS or later.