I'm a newbie to airheads

batman1

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
As in the title, I'm new to airheads, but definitely not new to this site.

I acquired an R80 GS (Bumblebee) during the winter and I'm just starting to fettle it.

Carbs?
I've got them stripped cleaned and ready for reassembly, have checked up with moto-bins and they do a 'pattern' gasket kit with diaphragms and also an OEM which is a similar kit but double the price. Question… are the pattern kits fine for my machine.

Oil cooler?
My bike has a cooler fitted, but is it necessary in this country, I'm not taking my steed onto the road of bones. I'm just trying to clean up the look of the bike and if it's not required I'll take it off.
However is this likely to cause me (my bike) any mechanical grief?

That's it for now....ta

Thanks Mickey, very much appreciated!

Can I also ask what engine oil you run, 20-50 mineral or something more modern like a semi-synthetic?

Plugs too..as per handbook?

General question..

I really love the look of the GS 80 Basic and much prefer it to the look of my black bumblebee, so is the basic more or less my R80 GS in prettier colours?

Coming back to my earlier query about whether or not my oil cooler is unnecessary clutter for use in Britain, having scrutinised the thread with many photos of gorgeous GS Basics it looks as though very few Basics are fitted with oil filters.
Was the oil filter an optional extra or a standard fitment on the European bikes? My bike was a bike produced for the German market and later imported into the UK?

For years there have been debates about removing the oil cooler, mainly 'to prevent damage in the case of a spill'.

I've never been convinced that it really is in such a vulnerable position, and if I was properly worried, I'd cobble together some kind of short pipe link so that I could just shortcut it if it became damaged.

It appears to be almost a random fitment some bikes have it and some bikes don’t ......why is this?