Where in Oct / Nov would make a fun trip???

chrismckay

Reaction score
Hello Guys.........

Just back from a few weeks in the Alps, had a brilliant time and cant wait to get back!!!! However the only period of free time I have this year is a 2 weeks in the last week of October and the first week of November. I have no experience of what to expect in terms of weather at this time of year!!!

Basically I would like to ask the forum for advice of where to go at this time of year, I would have 10 days on location, wherever that location may be Im not too fussed as long as i am among the Alps, whether it be the lower passes or the valley floors. My initial thought are the Dolomite's or perhaps Route Napoleon but I am not sure what else to link it up with.

I camped earlier this month and it was perfect, but for the Oct/Nov trip I would be staying in hotels, not fussed if it is a different place every night or one location as a base to do day trips from.

Any suggestions will be really appreciated.

Chris...:thumb

The light goes at the end of October, due to the hour change.

The weather? Well, it could be anything. October is generalv one of the driest months but it inevitably gets cold into November, not helped by the shorter days. It will almost certainly snow on the tops.

I’d head to the French Alps as, if it is horrible, you have the option to escape out of the mountains.

There are lots of very good websites with historic weather data, right down almost to a town level. Whilst it’s no prediction as to what it will be like on say 02 November 2018, you’ll at least know the min / max temperature range.

The light goes at the end of October, due to the hour change.

The weather? Well, it could be anything. October is generalv one of the driest months but it inevitably gets cold into November, not helped by the shorter days. It will almost certainly snow on the tops.