F800 GS and lack of history

Martymcfly

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I’ve bought probably 100 cars privately over the past 30 years, but I’m relatively new to biking. My question is regarding a 6 year old bike I’m considering purchasing and it’s lack of SH.
Bike has 7k on it. It had its initial run in service , but has no stamps since then ( I think this was at under 1k). The seller claims it has been dry stored and unused for past 4 years and when using, he serviced himself. So effectively a bike that did 7k in first two years and nothing since.
One of my concerns is that the bike has some signs of corrosion (engine block, subframe , side stand) . My limited experience would make me wonder why the bike has slight corrosion if it had been stored for so long.
So, should I avoid ? Thoughts welcomed please . Cheers guys

Hmm.. I guess it's entirely possible quite a few complaints about thin paint etc my sump and around the dip stick were blistering at approx 2-3 years old/7k. left untouched it could worsen even under cover. Is everything else looking in good order and in keeping with the mileage/limited use?

Unless it's exceptionally cheap, don't bother
Plenty of better examples which have been looked after properly for sale

All depends on the price and what you are prepared to live with. Apart from the break-in service it would only have needed one other at 6k and that would probably be mainly oil change. If the price is right grab it and get it serviced with brake fluid changes, all filters etc. The corrosion sounds minor and you can deal with this in time. As said above corrosion will keep happening if it started before the bike was stored.

Thanks all, mixed opinions !
It’s a blue white trophy so quite rare. 2012, up for 6300. It’s local to me too, so o think it would be rude not to view it .