BMW PCP should I ??

Big Nick

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I’ve never done PCP before but it looks quite appealing in that when the term ends I will have the funds to pay off the bike.

Any pitfalls I need to watch out for ??

If you intend to purchase at the end then look for the lowest interest rate possible. 5.9% or lower.

Remember that your only renting the bike until all the balances are paid off.
Have a look at the details of the agreement ie the actual total amount of interest your paying not the
interest rate.

If your happy with that then sign up.

If you are sure you are going to pay it off at the end, then buy with a personal loan... you will own it from the get go, and pay far less for it in the long run. As others have said, don't get confused by % rates... just simply calculate what you pay in cash at the end of the deal. The PCP will give you the opportunity to change your mind and hand it back or sign up again. Keeping it long term? Don't use PCP... imho

Check that your intended insurance fully covers a bike not owned by you. Some don’t accept it.

As already said, if you intend keeping it get a bank loan or similar, if pcp you have options to change whilst the pcp is still running and BMW will be very keen to keep your custom. My dealer told me recently that very few customers run their pcp to the end preferring to change for a new bike before the pcp runs out. Any value that's in the bike when you decide to change can then be used as a deposit on a new bike. Just my 2 pen'th.

horses for courses, you don't always pay more in the long run, to many variables.

If you are happy with renting and upgrading, go for it.

I have done both pcp and cash.

horses for courses, you don't always pay more in the long run, to many variables.

If you are happy with renting and upgrading, go for it.

I have done both pcp and cash.