First time trip. Ideas/advice on where to go ?

lukethedrifter

Reaction score
Hi, looking for ideas/advice on where to go for a first time bike ride.
I have two weeks off work beginning in November. Never been outside UK and not what you would call an "experienced rider".
Years driving hgv and cars, but only a few on the bike. Mostly commuting.
But.......I would love to have a little taste of Europe on my bike. And then maybe go further afield next year with a bit more planning.
Any suggestions of routes to take, places to go etc...would be appreciated.
I was going to just look on the map of France for example and pick a spot, book a hotel and then next day pick another spot and so on.
Problem is I have no idea if I'm picking the right spots :(
So thought better to ask people who have experience for some guidance :)
Remember I'm new to all this ...........so be gentle :comfort
Cheers

Get on the ferry to Santander, point your bike at Asturias, ride any road beginning with an "N". Seriously, there's not a bad one out there. People are really friendly, accommodation is great and affordable, and it is beautiful. Food is good, plenty of cider available should you want it. The ferry is great decompression from daily life, gets you relaxed before hitting the roads, and helps reduce the first and last couple of days grind on the motorway to get you somewhere interesting.

It doesn't matter where.
Put a big map of Europe on the table and have a big glass of whisky, spin round 3 times and put a pin in the map, there's your destination and just take the back roads.
:beerjug:

It doesn't matter where.
Put a big map of Europe on the table and have a big glass of whisky, spin round 3 times and put a pin in the map, there's your destination and just take the back roads.
:beerjug:
That's the spirit...

Sent from a U11

How about the NEC for the bike show?:p

Have a look on ride.co.uk loads of great rides on there, just download the GPX...

I agree - November = Spain.