Newbie with Top Box problem

Banana Boy

Reaction score
Good evening, All,

Newbie here although I’ve been lurking for a few months soaking up information from all you experienced fellas.

I recently took a 49l top box from a 2012 to a spray painter to have it resprayed. He thought it best to separate the lid from the body and then to remove the black plastic lining from the inside of the lid. In the process he unscrewed the cable recoil device from the lid and now says that the two brackets into which the recoil was screwed has fallen down between the plastic liner and the glass fibre (?) outer. The plastic liner appears to be held in place by screws and rivets and he’s unwilling to try unscrewing anything else to remove the liner in case anything else falls out of place and in the end finds out that the liner cannot actually be removed. Can anyone help, please, and tell me whether the liner can be removed and, if so, how it can be done? Many thanks in advance.
BB

PS: Sorry that my first post is a whine.

Can't help, but you maybe better joining 1200rt.com, its a specific RT forum and you may get more response on there.

Welcome to the forum!
Sounds a tricky one. Obvious thoughts are either to try shaking the biz about to see if you can persuade the bits to come out the same way they went in. Otherwise, you might have to order a new bracket from BMW.
You could try drilling rivets out to remove the liner but drilling metal rivets out of plastic is always fraught with danger.
Sorry not to be more help.
Best wishes Piers

Thanks for your replies, guys.
I tried 1200RT.com but trying to persuade their site that I was not a robot was more of a problem than the top box problem.
The spray painter was of the same opinion that drilling out rivets was fraught with danger and wasn’t prepared to do it.
In the meantime he has ordered another type of recoil system that he hopes to attach with self tapping screws and strong glue.