KTM Adventure - How is the quality?

vaclove

Reaction score
After 10 years with F800GS, I am about to upgrade to something bigger. Initially, my obvious choice was the 1200GS, until I got upset with my local BMW dealer and test rode the 1090/1290 KTMs which I liked. As the BMW was the only bike I got so far and was very happy with it, I am used to the way how thinks are done at BMW and tend to compare.

Initially, when I looked at the KTMs, I was not really sure how is the bike in the long term. For example some parts of bodywork seemed bit cheap and easy to scratch and the stickers were coming off even at new bikes in the showroom. These cosmetic things are not the crucial, for function of the bike, but if the bike has a poor finish, how about the other components you can't see. Are they build to last? As a layman, I would like to know what the experienced people here have to say.
When I have rented a 1090R for a day, at one point during a 200 miles trip, it gave me unspecified error message and did not start. While after restarting the bike things were fine, thing like this did not happen to my BM in 10 years.
My intention is to keep the bike for a while and do some long distance trips on it. Therefore, I would like to know from the experienced KTM owners of this parish, how is their long term experience with the big KTM bikes. Given a proper care, will they last for 10 years and do 50k miles without rusting away?

BMW offer an extended Warranty but KTM do not. I think that says a lot. :rob

I’ve owned over 10 GS’s over the years, and bought my first KTM in April last year. 12k miles later, and the bike hasn’t had one issue, still looks like new, and puts a grin on my face that no GS ever did.