G/S project... sort of

rossi

Reaction score
G/S project... sort of
Sorry if this is a bit long but I'd best do a quick intro first since I'm new to the airheads forum.

I was on this site a few years ago, mainly in the G650X forum when I owned an X-challenge which, after 46k miles and several modifications, I eventually sold to buy a road bike and lighter dirt bike. After that I rode an ex-Dakar finishing XR650R for a few years - sort of similar to the X-challenge but a bit lighter and racier. I brought this bike with me when we moved to Cyprus in 2015 and despite not being quite as civilised as the X-Ch I managed to ride it 1000 miles through Turkey to Greece, complete the Serres Rally and then return 1000 miles back in a day. I really like the 650 class bikes but it was eventually sold as in Cyprus my riding was increasingly over very technical terrain. I swapped to a 2 stroke dirt bike but wasn't really gelling with it but then had a slight mishap - I went head on with a crew-cab who was on the wrong side off the road.

So that brings me to my airhead - I would call it a G/S but it is actually a bitsa bike with an ST frame, G/S engine, GS forks and wheels which I brought out here in Novemeber. I don't need to explain the charms of an airhead here but after riding with a mate who had a well sorted airhead bike many years ago they have always been on my list of bikes to own when the time was right. After 4 sets of surgery I am able to ride but not strong enough to head up the side of the nearest mountain but I felt bereft without a bike in the shed. What better time to undertake a project... So along came a bike which, since it was already for from standard, I could modify and hopefully improve without feeling guilty.