Starting up new tour guide business in Scotland

jamie todd

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Good morning all ( Hopefully this is the correct section on the forum to post this)

My name is Jamie, I am based in Glenrothes, Fife. I am new to the forum this year too :)

Last year I thought about starting up a small motorcycle tour guide business, the business would run bike tours all over Scotland such as riding the Inner and Outer Hebrides, Skye, NC 500, Coast to Coast and tour of the borders.
I am now starting to get a website designed, social media pages set up and so on. I have 10 years road riding experience, before I passed my bike test, I had a go at trials riding, some motocross then onto enduro riding.
My plan is to set up a small business and run bike tours during my time off from offshore work, currently working a 3 on 3 off rotation so plenty time at home. I have been doing my own adventures around Scotland since buying my first camper van in 2008, since then I just love getting out and about all over Scotland and exploring, back in 2016 I converted my LWB Mercedes Sprinter into a motorhome with garage, kitted out for bigger and better adventures.
Bikes passed and present - First road bike was a 600 bandit, then I moved onto a Z1000 streetfighter, I have never owned a sported bike as I like the more sit up bikes, after the z1000 I bought a newer one and kept that for a year before buying my first BMW GS, I went to BMW Motorrad in Dundee to have a look at them along with Drysdales KTM in Perth. The BMW was the bike for me, I loved the look of the 1200 GS adventure but when I went to view one in Dundee it was a lot bigger than I thought....ha-ha, I then decided to go for the R1200 GS on a 2010 plate which I kept for a year, then I traded it in and bought a 2011 GSA. The GSA with all the gadgets on it was great on road and a little off road riding, last year I sold this bike and bought the newer BMW GSA LC model and I absolutely love this bike.