Waterproof Glove recommendations. for use with heated grips?

Von Stolberg

To Harwich and beyond!!!
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Medically, I'm not good with cold.
I find my heated grips are near compulsory on cold days.

I find some of my membrane-lined gloves not so good in the wet
IF i have my heated grips on ( water flows IN , not OUT, when heated)
Can anyone recommend some gloves that are waterproof even when the heated grips are on?

I know Muff's would be better, but ......:rolleyes:

I have to say I haven't noticed this with heated grips on on rainy days.

How about heated gloves? I've never used them but the current other half (who is much more of a year round rider than I am, by the way) swears by hers. The heating is inside the membrane, obviously.

Roomie, there's no magical solution but the best combination I've tried so far has been goretex gloves (take yer pick) heated grips and handguards. Accepted wisdom is that the heated grips and goretex should not work, but I have yet to experience any water leaking in.

Held Air-n-dry gloves get a lot of recommendations, they're the ones with a waterproof second 'chamber' you use if it's wet. Personally, I didn't like them, they felt odd, but that was off the bike in the shop which can often be misleading.

Dryest gloves I've ever had...

were the Sealskinz I melted on the electric radiator at Gasthaus Hochalmspitz

(Oh what a stupid mistake!)

:blast:blast:blast

Summer gloves and black Nitrile disposable 'tattoo' gloves over the top, £10 for 100.
All my 'waterproof' gloves have wicked water on heated grips.

I recall reading a couple of years ago that Gortex and heat are not good bedfellows, the heat from heated grips increases the size of the pores allowing not only vapour egress which Goretex is famous for but also allowing water ingress.

Unless there have been some technical developments since?