Triumph Adventure Centre

Deleted account 210604001

Reaction score
I had a quick road test of the Tiger 800 XCA last year and wanted to try it again and hopefully have a little fun and learn something so booked a 'level 1' training day with Triumph Adventure in Ystradgynlais (South Wales). Staying in a nice BnB tonight (https://cwtchfarm.co.uk/) .

48317711377_e921bbe0d6_z.jpg

Total novice, and super excited.

RBW.

I wrote a short article based on my experience of the training for the local IAM mag so have added it below. I realise there will be a natural bias towards the BMW ORS here, but as explained below I wanted to take a Tiger on an 'extended' test ride and this was a perfect way to do it.

Triumph Adventure Experience

I had an itch to try some off-road training. In addition I keep looking at the Triumph Tiger 800 as a possible replacement bike, so thought I would combine an extended test ride with some off road training by doing the Triumph Adventure experience in Wales (https://www.triumphmotorcycles.co.uk/adventure-experience). I picked the level 1 training, as I am a complete off-road novice and I'm as nervous off-road as I am confident on-road.

With all the planning in place, on a Thursday in July I drove down to the south of the Brecon Beacons to a village called Ystradgynlais in Wales and stayed at a lovely B&B a couple of miles from the village. The course started at 8:30 am, the rain had started and wouldn’t stop until mid afternoon on the second day. One participant had come from Switzerland flying into Birmingham, he was going to ride over on his Triumph tiger 1200 but his Mum wouldn’t let him :).

The start of the training