The great FE501 conversion

AndyB_11

Still waiting
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I’m not even collecting the bike until tomorrow but the first stages of converting it to a lightweight adventure bike are in place.

I’m off to the NL on it next Thursday evening to deliver it no Nomad ADV where I’ll go through what I’d like to be done then abandon it there for a few weeks. I’ve been a busy little contractor since January and I’m booked up solid with work until early next year so I can afford to go a bit mad and just hose money at it :D

I’ll take a few photos when I pick it up tomorrow then once I’ve seen what Nomad can do I’ll list what’s happening and just wait until it’s back when there’ll obviously be a few post completion photos added. The biggest individual hit will be a second set of wheels that will take what are best described as 50/50 type tyres so I don’t shred off road tyres getting across Europe and don’t have to sacrifice too much grip once I’m on trails and the added bonus will be that I just change the wheels at home when I’m riding the local trails.

It seems a bit odd buying a brand new bike then basically ripping it apart but nobody makes the bike that I actually want so I’m taking a giant leap into the unknown that will either give me a bike that does exactly what I want or I’ll be selling it to buy another behemoth this time next year :blast

I went half arsed at it when I modified my old 660 Yamaha but no matter what I did that was still a big heavy lump compared to an FE501 so I made it even more of a lump by putting a chair on it then leaving it to rot in the garage because it was crap on tarmac and scared me on dirt :blast

A friend of mine has a nomad rally fairing on his fe350. Looks really good. I’m tempted by their rear reinforcement that would allow for some luggage.

Looking forward to seeing what your bike turns into.