Back From the Picos

Mark H

Formerly known as Easyrider5258 (Mark)
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Following on from my Picos thread here https://www.ukgser.com/forums/showthread.php/541541-Picos-and-Pyrenees-trip

Been back a few days now and am currently in quarantine which ends on the 7th October, so have been editing the 1000 photos i took during the trip (Link below for Album)

I have never been to the Picos before and trip planning started end of last year, I'm a photographer (Aviation) but want to explore landscape / street so the focus of the trip was to enjoy the area and take plenty of photos!

Original plan was 1 week in Hotel Del Oso near Potes on the Fuente De road and then move for another week in the Pyrenees and finally 3 nights in Bilbao before the ferry home

Brittany ferries were offering a deal at the beginning of the year for a week Half Board at the Hotel Del Oso including return ferry crossing for about £1100 which when working out alternatives seemed a deal to me, Hotel Del Oso is excellent, could not fault my stay, the room, the staff, the food, all top class, so much so I cancelled the Pyrenees part of the the trip and booked another week at the Hotel Del Oso, there was so much to see around the Picos that a week was not long enough

The bike performed great on the trip which was about 1500 miles in total, did use half a sight glass of oil though

Roads were almost empty of GB bikes but plenty of other nationalities, advantage was I seemed to have the roads to myself at times

Bilbaos's old quarter was great as well, Guggenheim museum amazing and some beaches and roads up on the coast near Sopela also brilliant

Weather the whole time was perfect

I'll let the pictures do the talking now Here's a link to the album, (I'm still adding to it)

https://www.flickr.com/photos/65081372@N04/albums/72157716008439876

Mark