Hello all, things to look for on 1100GS?

OldGS'r

Reaction score
Hello all

I'm looking at a 1995 1100 GS on Monday (can post a link to the eBay advert if wanted/needed?).

I'm fairly mechanically minded, do my own services and have built a couple of bikes. Been riding for 28 years
now so not exactly a newb!

However I am a TOTAL newbie BMW's like this 1100GS.

I'm asking if there are specific things to look out for with this bike specifically, I can usually spot a nail when I see one.

Thank you to anyone taking the time to reply, I understand it's short notice and that I'm new to the forum. Obviously
if I do buy it, I'll be haunting this place for many years to come.

Jim.

If it’s still on the old rubber brake hoses they will need changing.They have a habit of breaking down internally. Corrosion particularly front of engine.Rear gearbox mountings to make sure they are not fractured . Preferable to have a metal fuel tank plastic ones tend to blister and leak. Check the fuel filter pump access on the tank to make sure fixing studs are not fractured and nuts rusted up.That will do for starters.

Take it out for a run and give it the beans through the gears. The pre 97 bikes can have problems with jumping out of gear slightly - feels like you cut the ignition - can indicate a worn box.

If it’s still on the old rubber brake hoses they will need changing.They have a habit of breaking down internally. Corrosion particularly front of engine.Rear gearbox mountings to make sure they are not fractured . Preferable to have a metal fuel tank plastic ones tend to blister and leak. Check the fuel filter pump access on the tank to make sure fixing studs are not fractured and nuts rusted up.That will do for starters.

That's great advice, I'll make a note. Thank you.:thumb2

I like to think, even I would have sussed that one but appreciate the effort (are you often described as trying?). Kidding.

Just noticed your avatar and can stop looking at it, Leela?