Zumo 595 Flags by the zillion ?

boatman

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
A wee query if anyone has had this issue ?
I am a novice with My route App .
Make a route select old garmin - and the route goes onto the zumo 660 fine with no apparent issues.
Make a route select new garmin and the route appears on the zumo 595 with such a huge number of flags that it is quite unusable .
Any pointers as to how to resolve this ?
Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:
I’ll move this into another section.

The problem comes in that you are mixing two different softwares:

1. MyRoute to create a route

2. A Garmin device to display it

The MyRoute route is built up of hundreds or more little shaping points, which the Garmin software reads as ‘via points’, which it then represents as flags. Shaping points, it represents as little blue dots, which are much less unobtrusive.

Options are:

1. You can change them all from via points to shaping points, very quickly in BaseCamp or (maybe) more slowly from within the device itself.

2. You can maybe export the route from MyRoute as a track, import it into the Garmin device and from there, convert it into a route. That shouldn’t have any flags or even shaping points in it at all.

3. You can get to love BaseCamp, where none of this shite is necessary.

There are more but these three will get you started.

PS If selecting ‘Old Garmin’ (whatever that is) works, why not just use that?

PPS MyRoute has a very good ‘Help desk’, they should tell you how to fix their problem.

https://www.javawa.nl/rtwtool_en.htmlPlus, use JavaWa RTW tool to take the flags out. But as a point, most of the third-party route planning tools seem to use millions of via points which appear as flags on the Garmin device - I had the same problem with Viewranger and others. I'm back with Basecamp.

I’ll move this into another section.

The problem comes in that you are mixing two different softwares:

1. MyRoute to create a route

2. A Garmin device to display it