R1100rs CCP

Johnstorey

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Evening. I've been running a 96 RS for a few months and i'm slowly bringing the servicing up to date. I find it has a bit too much surging going on. A lot more than any of the 1100s's I've owned. So far I've tended to the basics, ie tappets, plugs, cleaned the bodies and butterflies. Reset the throttle pot to about 10mv at zero throttle then idle screw turned in til about 380mv is achieved. this gave a decent idle of 10-1100rpm once bodies were synced.
It does'nt feel smooth at low speeds and I feel rather vulnerable on busy small roundabouts.
So, tonight I noticed that it doesn't have an O2 sensor, nor does it have a CCP installed. Although it does have a CAT. And, it also has a CO pot fitted on the left side of the frame. I'm really surprised that is has a surging issue considering there's no closed loop control going on.
Can anyone offer any points to check please. I'm not beat yet and I would love to fall in love with the bike before I loose heart with it.
Cheers
John

No CCP is the correct CCP for your configuration. Did you set the CO the the specified 1,5-2%?
The 'correct' procedure for the throttle pot would be to set it at 240mv, then use the throttle stop to go to 340, then lock and do the other body throttle screw until you have perfect balance. I am not sure what you mean with idle screw, but it must be the throttle stop screw, or forbidden screw.... since thats the one that affects the TPS-value.

More information on the whole precedure and why to take 240 instead of 0 or 10 here: https://advrider.com/f/threads/tps-alignment-idle-speed-adjustment-beyond-zero-zero.996719/
Hope this helps.

Hello and thank you very much for your technical advice. I've just logged in and read your reply. I'm keen to crack this before I start looking at some transmission issues it might have. I bought the bike in good faith and right now i'm feeling rather let down.