Best way to determine shock failure

sbridgens

Reaction score
Hi, All I am new here and this is my first post.

The question(s) I have is relating to the rear ESA shock on a 2010 R1200GS.

1: Can a bad shock affect cornering? the reason I ask this I am new to the BMW GS style of bike and noticed a few times where the backend felt loose on a corner causing traction to kick in..
2: Ride out yesterday with the Wife as pillion, a particular road cause x2 occasions where the suspension bottomed out and the remainder of the terrible road felt like being on a boat? the ESA was set to x2 pillion and Normal.

Be great to understand what I need to look at and how I can determine if a shock is at fault here and if so and recommendations for shocks or reconditioning if its required?

Many thanks

Yeah I know sorry head was thinking of what to say hence the typo :beerjug: updated

No problem, to check your shock action, bounce the rear of the bike, up and down and see how quickly it goes down and returns, if it's fast and springy............then there is a lack of damping

Thanks just set it to single rider and bounced the rear end, it was bouncing around with zero effort; darn new shock in order then...

You have more options than a straight replacement.

Non OEM like Wilbers, ohlins, Touratech and I think a couple of others. All pricey but Wilbers cheaper than the rest including a BMW replacement. You buy a shock and swap out the esa bits with Wilbers. All probably a step up at least in performance.

Get the standard worn out shock refurbed. There’s a couple of places plus a guy on here -Denzo?? - who refurb for a lot lot less money than a new one.

Secondhand. They come up from time to time. But probably best to refurb before using.

I had Wilbers put on my gsa. Fan-bloody-tastic once they had ‘run-in’.

Dont buy a new one!!!!

Get it rebuilt, firefox racing in shipley or i think dens0 on here did them