Help! Touring novice - Bike is tipping up

Smithmas

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi Guys.

Off to Scotland for a couple of weeks on the R1200 GS - packed as light as possible 'no frills' considering time away.

Bike is currently on the centre stand in the garage ready to go - I attach the side panniers (Vario), all good. Once I attach the rear pannier the bike tilts back lifting the front wheel off the floor.

Should I not use centre stand when fully laden? Is this normal or a warning to get rid of more (not sure how) kit?

I am a total touring novice, help appreciated!

Cheers

It is just tipping backwards, like a fat bird on a seesaw.

It’s fine.

PS Everyone who goes away for the first time takes too much. You’ll find that out as you go along. Take a note of what you actually use and (more importantly) what you don’t. You’ll then know for next time.

It's totally normal, wait until you take a wife as well! When we are touring I attach the panniers and load up with the bike on the main stand as it is easier with the bike upright, it just takes a bit more of a heave to get it off the main stand, or you can ride it off the stand if you want to look like a cool touring master. Just make sure you increase the suspension pre-load on the rear to compensate for the extra weight on the back.

Cheers Gents! Very much appreciated for the advice, great point about the suspension also as I wouldn't have thought of that :blast

You'll almost certainly have packed too much as others have said. That said, on a GS, I've never really worried much about weight when touring . Don't notice it so much when you're moving just parking. If you've got decent panniers, remember you've still carrying low down much less than a pillion rider whose CoG is much higher up! Unless you've got a pillion as well :D Even then, on a GS, not a problem.