Tyres for my XCountry

tim0409

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi

I bought my 2009 XCountry last year from a friend who had barely used it (500 miles in 5 years) and since then I've taken the mileage from 13k to 21k, and yesterday I checked the date stamp on the tyres (there is some perishing) and was surprised that they ranged from 2010 to 2013; I was given a set of off road tyres with the bike and I suspect they were taken off/swapped over before I got it. I have Metzeler Tourance on it at the moment, but given I never take it off road, I would be grateful for advice on what would be the best road focused tyres?

Many thanks

Tim

Having considered all tyre options for road use on my X Country, I went for a pair of Continental Trail Attack 3

They are superb in every respect and highly recommended.

The Avon’s look a good alternative but I have no experience of these.

Hi, I'm on the hunt for road onlky tyres niaw that I'm getting abit long in the tooth for trail riding ona big(iso) bike.

Looking at Avon Roasdrider Mk Its, anyone had experience of these?

Heidenau K60 Scout, good for street and green lanes,.

Very impressed with these so they are now top of my shortlist - good price too!

BTW, what is the screen on your bike?

One thing to note about the Trailriders is that the front tyre is of bias ply construction and doesn't, unfortunately, have the much vaunted micro sipes. I would have preferred that here in our wet climate.

The screen is, as far as I'm aware, an OEM BMW accessory. It was on the bike when I bought it from an inmate on here four years ago.

One thing to note about the Trailriders is that the front tyre is of bias ply construction and doesn't, unfortunately, have the much vaunted micro sipes. I would have preferred that here in our wet climate.

The screen is, as far as I'm aware, an OEM BMW accessory. It was on the bike when I bought it from an inmate on here four years ago.