Thinking of buying an old Ironhead Sporty

Billd

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Feel a bit stupid admitting that here amongst all the news of HD's latest bikes. As I enjoy working on bikes and riding old bikes why not a 1972 XLCH Ironhead, surly they are no more unreliable than an old Triumph or Norton. With a claimed hp of 61 suspect it will feel like a rocket or at the very least a very fast turbo prop!

If anyone feels the need to talk me out of it please feel free. All other comments welcomed. It's not a done deal at this point so can still back out if someone presents very compelling reasons to avoid. if I go ahead with this will post some updates as to progress on it's reconstruction. At the moment the bike I'm looking at is up and running and on the road but I'm unable to leave any new bike (to me!) alone for long.

be prepared for lots of problems inserted by previous owners. i worked in a shop that saw loads of these , all left with big bills. most of them more than the bike was worth.

I had a go on one circa thirty years ago. It went very well for what it was and was WAY faster than an 883 of the day, loads of 'grunt'. It shook and vibrated like nothing I had ever ridden before, I could never have ridden it far, it was much worse than a 70's Brit' bike.

It was sort of crap but I liked it.....I'm not helping am I ??....:D

Remember boys...............this is my current ride

Attachments

• 3B95E9C0-27E2-4C0A-9FC5-5060FDFF264F.jpg
    3B95E9C0-27E2-4C0A-9FC5-5060FDFF264F.jpg
    215.8 KB · Views: 147