Connected Cradle / App - Phone Call Issue

yorkshire whippet

Reaction score
I've had the cradle for around a fortnight now and just returned from a 5 day trip around Germany's iconic dams to 'test' it out. Prior to the trip I imported a number of routes using a combination of GPS Visualizer and Google My Maps and found the process relatively simple or at least simpler than the process for my CoPilot app which was my previous source of navigation. The unit was linked to the TFT and I also had my Cardo headset and mobile phone linked to the bike. I was travelling with 2 other friends who also had Cardo headsets and we were using the mesh system. Providing I ensured everything was connected after having cafe or fuel stops the system was excellent and we even utilised the POI search when we had to find a garage with an airline as one of our group was losing front tyre pressure. My only issue with it (and this may be to do with my settings rather than anything else as I am a newbie with this headset malarky) was when I phoned home. After the call was finished the phone went into standby/lock effectively shutting me out with a black screen and no ability to open it by the wonder wheel and therefore losing the map. If I remember rightly the turn instructions did still display on the TFT and the commands still came through the headset however to get the maps back up I had to stop to unlock the phone. My phone is Android. Has anybody else experienced this and does anybody know a solution? It's not a biggy as I don't tend to use the phone whilst riding too often but the same thing happens if someone calls me necessitating a stop which is annoying.

Hopefully someone will have an answer, beyond ‘Turn your phone calls off’ :D