Rough idle & stalling when hot

jonbenj979

Reaction score
Hello,
Newbie here so be gentle!
I got an 08 gs at the start of June and have been lurking here ever since. The bike has low miles, just under 15k when I got it, and a full dealer history up until about 2 years ago. In the last 2 years it’s done virtually nothing. It got an oil change and final drive change done by supplying dealer.
I had some disappointing issues in the first weeks of ownership; slipping clutch, front main oil seal leak, fuel strip u/s, RDC sensors dead. I’ve zapped the strip which seems to be working, swopped the RDC sensors for some AliExpress specials, and coded them in with newly acquired Motoscan app, and had new clutch and oil seal fitted at supplying dealer’s considerable expense.
I was finally starting to enjoy the bike a bit when it started cutting out at low revs the other day, typically at slow speed or when idling. I hooked up the Motoscan today and got a stored fault code 2722 for oxygen sensor 2.
I’m now scouring t’internet for a reasonably priced lambda sensor but before I place the order has anyone got any other suggestions of what to check? Bike runs fine once off idle and no issues when cold. Got a new battery on order as the existing one doesn’t fill me with confidence although the multimeter says it’s ok.
If I go ahead and swop out the o2 sensor is there anything I need to do ecu wise to get it to work?

Cheers

John.