For the first time…..

Wapping

Reaction score
On a decent length jaunt (250 miles) in the car across France and into Belgium, using a mixture of motorway, N and D roads, I didn’t use my Garmin device at all. Instead I used my phone, running a bespoke MyRoutes’ route (created on my iPad) run through MyRoutes’ Navigation app. It ran perfectly.

I am not sure if I am amazed (I have never used my phone for navigation before) or just pleased that it worked. Either way, it has given me the confidence to do more with the phone and MyRoute in the future.

On a decent length jaunt (250 miles) in the car across France and into Belgium, using a mixture of motorway, N and D roads, I didn’t use my Garmin device at all. Instead I used my phone, running a bespoke MyRoutes’ route (created on my iPad) run through MyRoutes’ Navigation app. It ran perfectly.

I am not sure if I am amazed (I have never used my phone for navigation before) or just pleased that it worked. Either way, it has given me the confidence to do more with the phone and MyRoute in the future.

MyRoute works very well !
On our recent 11 day jaunt over the Alps and Vercors I used it the whole time following routes I had created like you, on my iPad .
I did send them to my XT but could have used my phone instead, as that was in a RAM mount and would mirror the XT if I selected the same route in the MyRoute Nav app.
I see they are merging the apps with the emergence of the Next app imminent .

Hope you had a nice chill out spa day when you arrived ? :)

Thanks.

The weather forecast for the weekend is not too encouraging.

Like you, I had the routes on my XT too, but I decided to only use my phone, just to see if it worked. It was perfect, including a significant and very fast recalculation when (due to a blocked road) I went off-route in the small streets of Rochefort.