1997 Evo Dyna tech questions

Jon T

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi All,
I’m new to this section, but I’ve recently bought a mildly bobbed Dyna-Conv and I’m having trouble getting answers to my technical questions, which mostly centre around mods done to the bike in its 25 years..

Is there anyone here with a working knowledge of late Evo engined Dynas? If not, where would be a good place to seek advice on things like electrics and running gear?

TIA…

Cheers, Jon

Ask up…. See what we can do….

Or, we can hook you up with a decent shop near Birmingham.

Okay, thanks.
The current things that are perplexing me are -

I want to fit an upper belt guard, but with the aftermarket billet rear pulley, there’s not enough axial clearance for the rear mount and hardware to fit - it would clash with the pulley mounting bolts. All I can think is that the flange on the pulley is thicker than the original one, but that seems odd?

Also, I want to get rid of the horrid T bars that are fitted and fit regular XR bars. The bars are aftermarket & internally wired, so I bought new switchgear to save wrestling them out and probably buggering them up. The problem is, there is no connector visible to unplug the old ones & fit the new. Whereabouts should I find the plugs for the handlebar switchgear - is it within the frame tube, or has some PO cut the loom about?

Is the shop you’re talking about Thunder Road?

Cheers, Jon

Ref the connector for HB switch gear - as you sit on the bike - look at the frame on the right hand side in front of the petrol tank - donyiu have a cluster of wires there? Maybe going into a grommet?

Cant help on aftermarket pulley - could be anything…..

Ref the connector for HB switch gear - as you sit on the bike - look at the frame on the right hand side in front of the petrol tank - donyiu have a cluster of wires there? Maybe going into a grommet?