Nippy Normans supply Touratech, Wunderlich and many other makes of accessories. The ULTIMATE Diagnostic tool FOR BMW motorcycles.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 17 to 31 of 31

Thread: MPH to KMPH

  1. #17
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    73,753
    At around 11:00 AM yesterday, I moved this post from the Travel section, hoping that the answer to the bod’s quite simple question - as to whether it can be done and how - would be provided by the ‘Technical’ section quite quickly and accurately.

  2. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    1,513
    Quote Originally Posted by Victor c View Post
    The OP has asked the question about the digital speed display, which is part of the functions of the earlier dash layouts, and works alongside the needle analogue display.

    Yes it is possible to change from MPH to KPH. I had mine done for free by a dealer during a service. I think it can also be carried out with GS911 and possibly Motoscan.
    Learning something new every day..

    Thank you

  3. #19
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Co. Meath Irish Rep.
    Posts
    9,163
    Most people in Ireland have been doing it for years. We changed from mph about 20 years or so ago. It’s a simple thing to do in your head as you drive/ride along. JJH

  4. #20
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    73,753
    Quote Originally Posted by JJH View Post
    Most people in Ireland have been doing it for years. We changed from mph about 20 years or so ago. It’s a simple thing to do in your head as you drive/ride along. JJH
    Whilst the generation who were just born when the change came in and are themselves now drivers, think nothing of miles at all, I assume.

  5. #21
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London/Rome
    Posts
    5,550
    I used to remember all the service intervals, exact distance traveled on any summer trip, how much each set of tyres lasted, distances, etc. when operating in Km.
    I have now a vague idea of how much my bikes travel, tyres last, etc. after switching to miles. Funny how it works.
    I guess base 10 is easier to memorise and I maybe try to keep converting in my head.
    R1150R '03 [in bits]
    R1200GS Adv '07
    HP2 Sport '11
    DRZ 400
    [I'm the biggest limit on my bike]

  6. #22
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Allihies again.. but off to Asia soon....
    Posts
    9,160
    Quote Originally Posted by Wapping View Post
    It is very easy:

    30 kph = 20 mph (near enough)

    50 kph = 30 mph

    80 kph = 50 mph

    100 kph = 60 mph

    120 kph = 70 mph

    It is not difficult to remember. People did it for years without a calculator or magic speed displays. If you are really stuck, halve the kph limit displayed on the roadside sign. You’ll be under the speed limit, as the basic table above shows.

    PS Modern Garmin GPS devices have the bike’s current speed displayed by default. The display changes red, when the known speed limit is exceeded. It works just the same abroad, without you doing anything.
    Well almost, apart from 120KMH you are way below at 70MPH closer to 110, but in actual fact not either....
    Keep it Fluffy...
    Looking for a bike..
    check out my way of life http://www.balooz.com

  7. #23
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    79
    To close the thread.

    Yes it can be done with a MotoScan, straight forward but MotoScan gives you a 'it's at your risk' before you action the change.

  8. #24
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    London/Rome
    Posts
    5,550
    Nothing happens and you can revert.

    That disclaimer is there for legal reasons.
    R1150R '03 [in bits]
    R1200GS Adv '07
    HP2 Sport '11
    DRZ 400
    [I'm the biggest limit on my bike]

  9. #25
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    79
    An update on this and a new frustration, I did manage to change the mileage to KM's in doing so my additional information for the Pro OE setup has disappeared i.e. automatic trip, current consumption and current speed. I reset to miles this morning and the additional information is still not displayed. Looks like I will need to contact MotoScan, I'm really frustrated and disappointed at this.

  10. #26
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Surrey, England
    Posts
    5,012
    There are few frustrations like software frustrations. Good luck sorting it.
    The Other PaulG



    ...you should never underestimate what a wonderful thing you have all done here - Chad, Dec 2018

  11. #27
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Welton nr Lincoln, England
    Posts
    875
    Quote Originally Posted by LochLaddie View Post
    An update on this and a new frustration, I did manage to change the mileage to KM's in doing so my additional information for the Pro OE setup has disappeared i.e. automatic trip, current consumption and current speed. I reset to miles this morning and the additional information is still not displayed. Looks like I will need to contact MotoScan, I'm really frustrated and disappointed at this.
    I am quite sure that the option exists in Motoscan to switch these on or off in the coding section of the Instrument display. I cant see the coding screens as I need to connect to the bike which I will do later and then screenshot the options for you.
    2008 F650GS Twin (800cc)
    2018 Cube Cross One 500 e-bike. Triple Black

  12. #28
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Welton nr Lincoln, England
    Posts
    875
    As said above. This is for the K72 which is probably similar to your model.


    Then …


    Then …




    Then Perform Coding …




    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    2008 F650GS Twin (800cc)
    2018 Cube Cross One 500 e-bike. Triple Black

  13. #29
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    79
    @oldcroc I have been using K50 and it does not have these options, I'll try K72 and see what happens, thanks.

  14. #30
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2021
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    79
    Double checked this morning and as expected unable to use K72, rechecked K50 and even K51 and the options are not available.

  15. #31
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Welton nr Lincoln, England
    Posts
    875
    That’s annoying! Looks like it’s back to Motoscan then!

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy



UKGSer is....

"A vent, a source of info, a source of bullshit, a source of humour and in the coming months, possibly a source of sanity." Big Lad March 2020

"I have always known this community is full good people even if most of you cover it up with piss n vinegar" Chad 2018

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good" Kaister 2005