Transferring Routes from Basecamp to a 660/Nav IV

paul08

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I am a newbie to all of this, put have created some routes on Basecamp with a view to transferring them to my NavIV. I fear that I may be doing something wrong, so am hoping someone will give me some simple pointers. the routes that I created were a mixture of simple A to B routes and some bigger (200+km long circular routes). So....

a) I save the routes I create into a list/folder in My Collections called 'Saved Routes'.

b) The routes were originally done created in 2013.4. When I updated my maps to 2014.10 and had selected 2014.10 as my map of choice in basecamp, I opened each route and pressed the recalculate button and then checked the route out for gliches. Is that what you are meant to do?

c) With everything okay, I then looked to transfer a selection of the routes to my NAV IV. Even though I had selected only one of the routes saved in my "Saved Routes' list, when I selected the 'Transfer' dropdown menu, the only option I was given was to transfer ALL of the routes in the selected list, i.e. all of the routes in 'Saved Routes".

d) Having checked the Garmin online help page, it seemed that I could drag and drop, from Basecamp to the device. I tried that, but it did not seem to put anything on my Nav IV when I checked that.

e) So I created another folder/list called "Files to Transfer" and put the 3 routes I wanted to transfer in that list. I then used the Transfer drop down menu to transfer to my Nav IV. it did not work! Nothing visible on my Nav IV

f) So I then tried the transfer again, but transferred to the SD Card in my Nav IV, not to the built in memory on the Nav IV. This seemed to work, although I got a message that the routes were created in a different map version to that on the device and asking if I wanted to recalculate. I said yes, even though it was 2014.10 on both device and Basecamp!