Bike powered Kenwood TK359 bike to bike setup.

mr_magicfingers

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Through a few other threads on here I've been asked questions about how I put together my bike to bike radio setup, and the equipment I used, so I figured it was easiest to put it all in one place with details of where to get the bits from and how it all works, along with prices.

I wanted a bike to bike setup as my girlfriend has just bought her first bike and I thought it would allow us to go for rides together and have me be able to give her a bit of instruction along the way. I should add that years ago I was an instructor so I've a bit of experience at that.

I also wanted to do this on a reasonably tight budget so spending £120 per radio plus ancilliaries was out of the question. I already had an autocom intercom on my bike and so we also both had headsets already fitted into our helmets. The autocom is bike powered and fitted into where the tool tray is under the pillion seat of my r1150gs. I had already taken the tool insert out and fabricated a fiberglass box for it, which you can see in this thread.

I researched posts on various pmr radios but one problem they all have is that current legal radios don't have a removeable antenna and they're limited to half a watt.

Now what I've done is technically illegal, however the pmr bands are not policed and, as long as you're sensible, you're unlikely to ever have someone pull you for it. However, this is what I've done and if you choose to do the same thing then on you're own head be it.