Garmin Zumo XT or XT2?

Ex-Call Centre Chimp

I don't belong here, I don't belong anywhere.
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
My wife's friend would like to buy her husband a Zumo for his new to him F800.
He's off to Portugal for a trip around The Picos in the summer with some chums but does occasionally do a little bit of green laning in the UK.
She's asked me which is the better option of the 2 Zumos but as I have no knowledge of either (I have a Nav V) I thought I'd ask on here for any opinions please.
As ever TY in advance Comrades.👍

I’d go for version 1 but only because it retains the ability to receive / send routes via Bluetooth. This ability is apparently lost on version 2, which uses a Garmin based app. If though this is not a problem, toss a coin; either will do.

My wife's friend would like to buy her husband a Zumo for his new to him F800.
He's off to Portugal for a trip around The Picos in the summer with some chums but does occasionally do a little bit of green laning in the UK.
She's asked me which is the better option of the 2 Zumos but as I have no knowledge of either (I have a Nav V) I thought I'd ask on here for any opinions please.
As ever TY in advance Comrades.👍
I have had my Zumo XT for about 3 years now & it has been faultless. (not the new XT2) From what I have read the XT2 is still a bit buggy. I see that you mention green laning, neither of the XT models will run Ordnance Survey maps, which are easily the best off road. The standard XT mount is a little flimsy / light weight, I would definatley run a tether to the rear of the unit for peace of mind. I have kept my old Montana 600 unit for off road duty, as it is a much more rugged unit & will run Ordnance Survey maps.

I’d go for version 1 but only because it retains the ability to receive / send routes via Bluetooth. This ability is apparently lost on version 2, which uses a Garmin based app. If though this is not a problem, toss a coin; either will do.