Himalayan: does it need electronic diagnostics, and what's its overtake like?

tornadof3

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I've got two questions, one specific and one general:

Himalayan: being a modern bike, does it still need electronic 'bits of kit' to do servicing and bits and bobs, akin to the GS-911, or is it much simpler and more "hand tools only"?

400cc class bikes: I've only ever ridden 125s and then 800cc+ and now on a GS 1200..... so I've no experience of the smaller capacity bikes like 400cc class. Consider a swift overtake on a country road where Sunday driver is doing 45 mph and we need to get past quickly.... from my 125 days I know this is a "no-go", and I know 800+ cc bikes this is an easy overtake. What would the experience be like on a 400cc class bike?

Any knowledge appreciated.

Assuming both questions relate to the 411 bike.

1. No

2. The bike has 25 horse power. By simple comparison, the Honda 125CF has just under 12 horse power, whilst an 800 has around 85 horse power. Will the 411 overtake a vehicle doing 45 mph? Yes, of course it will but….

A. You can’t just snap open the throttle and blast past, as you could do on say a 600 or 800 / any number you like above that. It just isn’t that kind of bike.

B. The lack of instant power means you have to plan overtakes, as you do not want to find things changing in a way that are not to your advantage. You’ll either hit the vehicle coming towards you, or just as likely hit the vehicle you were attempting to overtake, in your panic to get back in.

Item A does not make the 411 a bad bike.

Item B, does not make the 411 a bad bike. You should always plan your overtakes anyway. All the 411 requires you to do is plan a little harder. It is good for you. In short, you just retune your mind and riding, to suit the limitations of the bike.