Suggested Route from Troyes to Grenoble

smileydaz

Reaction score
I recently posted and got some great advice on a trip I am planning to the Alps in June however I am struggling to find a good route to get us from Troyes to Grenoble. I have all day to do the journey and therefore am ideally looking to avoid the Autoroute where possible.

Also on the way back I need to get from Thonon Les Bains to Troyes and again have a full day to do it

Any ideas or advice would be appreciated.

:beerjug::beerjug::beerjug::beerjug::beerjug::beerjug::beerjug::beerjug:

I've been touring for many years, and whilst I do know some of the well trodden alpine / pyrenean routes, I don't know a specific route that will help you here.

When I do tour, I play with michelin regional maps (the yellow ones - 1:200,000) and my sat nav. You can normally get a feel just by looking at the map, which roads to avoid and which will be good roads.

Over the years I've found some absolute corkers, and not really by chance - my map instincts have been right.

So I would say, get yerself a couple of relevant regional maps, the green highlighted (scenic) roads are normally exactly that and pick what looks like a nice route south from Troyes and you'll probably be bang on the money. :thumb2

Thanks Giles, I do have a range of Michelin maps covering the Rhone Alps and the Cote D Sur and I agree they paint a pretty good picture, maybe I need to get one covering that area too.

I'm going that way in May. I've plotted a route using the motorcycle atlas france and michelin green routes.

Troyes-Dijon on D671 and D971
Then heading to Bourg en Bresse (no obvious decent route)
B en B to Aix Les Baines mainly on the D8
A les B to Grenoble on the D512

You'll need to get a map to link all these roads up, plenty of scenic roads round here though!

Get yourself a map, see sticky. Without a map, you are lost.