Insurance woes

TechnoGSA

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I'm having a right nightmare at present, trying to ensure a new 1250 GSA TE. I've been riding constantly for 45 yrs, max no claims 9+, no convictions, no med issues, garaged, etc. Got 2 other bikes XJR and a maxi scoot, Datatool'd etc just renewed them with Bennetts and moved to a village south of Chesterfield, from the West Country. Was with CN and they wanted £290 up from £243 increase probably due to the move and all polices appear to be increasing, like everything else! Went with Bennetts (Highway) for £261 in the end.

Ok now the GSA, so this is a new bike, thought I'd treat myself after retiring and getting my pay out etc. I duly order one back in Apr after doing my due diligence with the insurance back in Apr. Tues I get a call the bike is clearing customs and will be ready for collection in a week, excellent. I contact Bennetts and attempt to add the GSA, no problem, give them all the info, bike value, 22k, now the security, now the trouble starts. Data Tag BMW alarm/immobiliser, which I believe are in fact Datatool. PJB 19mm chain and ground anchor all Sold secure Gold, Litelok X 1 is Dimond and garaged.

The BMW alarm, chain/anchor, isn't on their list. The 16mm version is, I don't have a 16mm mine is 19mm, neither is the Litelok X1. They will accept a Oxford XL chain, even though it's a lesser bit of kit. His quote £574 for the 3 bikes.

The chap presses the button and................... No. After a conversation with his supervisor, not enough security and they want a tracker.